clock December 24,2023
Indian Air Force cyclists to race at Air Force Cycle Race

Indian Air Force cyclists to race at Air Force Cycle Race

Over 200 cyclists including Indian Air Force cyclists are expected to take part at the 25th Air Force Cycle Race (Guwanhamuda Papedi Sawariya) which is scheduled to  be held from March 3-7.Sri Lanka Air Force (SLA) together with Sri Lanka Cycling Federation  once again organized this cycle race  to mark the Sri Lanka Air Force 73rd year, said Air Vice Marshal Lasitha  Sumanaweera  the Director General of AIR Operation who is also the SLA Cycling chairman. “Already we have received more than 180 entries while few Indian Air Force cyclists already confirmed their participation”, said Sumanawewera.

Sri Lanka Air Force conducted this race from 1999 except in 2008 and the vision  of this race is to make good competition among local cyclists. Cycling Federation standards and rules will be applyed for this five-day race which covers 654 km.Nippon Paint once again came forward to sponsor this cycle race as the principal sponsor and it’s General Manager Nemantha Abeysinghe  said Nippon paint is no stranger for all sports and especially very keen to support Air Force Cycling Race. In addition Abans  Company, Maliban Pvt Ltd, Link Natural , Wijaya Products, People’s Insurance and Peoples Bank will give their assistance as co sponsors.The  men’s race divided into five stages will start on March 3 from Colombo to Kandy  covering 104.3 km. The second day on March 4 the race will begin from Kandy to Polonnaruwa covering 137.2km. The third day on March 5  from Polonnaruwa to Trincomalee covering 125.7 km  and fourth day on  March 6 from Trincomalee to Vavuniya   covering 139.4km and final day on March 7 from Vavuniya to Jaffna covering 147.4kms.In addition, a special women’s race will be conducted on March 7  from Mankulam to Jaffna covering 98km and  this is going to be a good opportunity for women’s cyclists.

The organizers are expected to give cash awards for top  winners  while overall men’s winner will receive Rs. 500,000 cash award while second and third places will receive Rs. 300,000 and Rs. 200,000 cash awards. Cash awards will be presented up to 25th place. Meanwhile overall sprint championship , and overall team championship and runners up will also receive cash awards. The women’s race  winner will receive Rs.125, 000 cash awards and  second and third places will receive RS. 80, 000 and Rs. 60, 000  cash awards. Cash awards will be given up to tenth places.The award ceremony will be held in Jaffna on March 7 with Air Force Commander Air Marshal Udeni Rajapaksa being the chief guest.

( Source : Daily Mirror)

You Must be Registered Or Logged in To Comment Log In?

Please Accept Cookies for Better Performance