Friday, December 8, 2023

Sri Lanka announce T20 squad for Australia series

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Selection Committee has selected its 18-member squad to take part in the T20I series against Australia.

Sri Lanka has named two uncapped players in Nuwanidu Fernando and Matheesha Pathirana to the squad while Bhanuka Rajapaksa also makes a return to the T20 squad. 

The squad was announced subject to the approval of the Minister of Sports, SLC said.

Australia and Sri Lanka play three T20Is, followed by five ODIs in Colombo and Pallekele. Post the limited overs series, the Pat Cummins-led Australian red-ball team will play two Tests against the Island nation in Galle.

There were speculations about the series being delayed or postponed due to the ongoing crisis in Sri Lanka, but the boards of both countries have confirmed that the series will go ahead as per schedule.

Australia will kick things off with the T20I series, the first to be played on 7th June at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

T20 Squad

01) Dasun Shanaka – Captain

02) Pathum Nissanka

03) Danushka Gunathilaka

04) Kusal Mendis

05) Charith Asalanka

06) Bhanuka Rajapaksa

07) Nuwanidu Fernando

08) Lahiru Madushanka

09) Wanindu Hasaranga

10) Chamika Karunaratne

11) Dushmantha Chameera

12) Kasun Rajitha

13) Nuwan Thushara

14) Matheesha Pathirana

15) Ramesh Mendis

16) Maheesh Theekshana

17) Praveen Jayawickrama

18) Lakshan Sandakan


01) Jeffrey Vandersay

02) Niroshan Dickwella

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: