Saturday, June 10, 2023

Australia opts to field first in 4th ODI

 Australia won the toss and elected to field first in the fourth one-day international against Sri Lanka on Tuesday.

With the series at stake, the five-time world champions brought in the experienced Pat Cummins in place of Jhye Richardson. There was no Mitchell Starc though. The left-arm quick hasn’t played any game since hurting his finger earlier in the series.

Sri Lanka also made one change, brining in Wanindu Hasaranga for fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera. Hasaranga had to sit out of the second and third ODIs that Sri Lanka went onto win due to a groin strain.

Sri Lanka have plenty of spin options and the wicket is expected to help spin bowlers.

Sri Lanka have not beaten Australia in an ODI series since 2010. That series win came in Australia and at home they have not beaten the opposition in a series for 30 years.

Australia: Aaron Finch (Captain), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey (Wicketkeeper), Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Kuhnemann, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green and Josh Hazlewood.

Sri Lanka: Niroshan Dickwella (Wicketkeeper), Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana.

Source: AP

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: